-A A +A
stay connected

The Delhi XIX Commonwealth Games are now over. This website is closed and for reference purposes only. Some external links may no longer work.
For the latest news and information, please visit the Commonwealth Games Federation website.

Australia win Men's Team Sprint in record time

Australia today slammed home a new Commonwealth Games record to defeat New Zealand in the Men's Team Sprint.

Jason Niblett replaced Shane Perkins in the three-rider event which the Australians won in 43.772 seconds - bettering the previous mark of 44.282 set by Scotland in Melbourne 2006.

Scott Sunderland (AUS) won his third medal of the Games, after previously collecting Gold in the 1000m Time Trial and Silver in the Sprint.

New Zealand kept it close to take Silver in 44.239, despite a heavy fall involving second-pull rider Sam Michael Webster, whose rear tire exploded as he pulled off, causing him to land heavily on his hip and right shoulder.

Malaysia won their third Cycling Track medal during the Games by beating Scotland to the Bronze.

Meanwhile, Alison Shanks got New Zealand their first Gold medal of Delhi 2010 with victory in the Women's Individual Pursuit at the Indira Gandhi Sports Complex earlier today.

Shanks pipped 2010 World Track Cycling Championships Silver medallist Wendy Houvenaghel (NIR) in the 3000m race-against-the-clock to win her first career Commonwealth Games Gold in three minutes 30.875 seconds (3:30.875).

Shanks, who came in fourth at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, steadily improved her split times to overcome an early lead set by Houvenaghel.

In the battle for third place Tara Whitten (CAN) easily outpaced Jaime Nielsen (NZL) and collected her second Bronze medal of Delhi 2010 with a time of 3:35.810.



Have something to say? Post your comment.

Comments will be moderated and allowed only if they are about this topic and not abusive.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h1> <h2> <h3> <h4> <h5> <h6> <span> <p> <br> <b> <u> <i>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options