-A A +A
stay connected

The Delhi XIX Commonwealth Games are now over. This website is closed and for reference purposes only. Some external links may no longer work.
For the latest news and information, please visit the Commonwealth Games Federation website.

Ng makes history with Keirin Gold

Josiah Ng became the first Malaysian to win a Gold in Track Cycling at Delhi 2010 with victory in the Men's Keirin at the Indira Gandhi Sports Complex today. Azizulhasni Awang (MAS) had finished first in the medal round but was disqualified and runner-up Ng awarded the Gold. David Daniell (ENG) took Silver in a photo-finish with Simon Van Velthooven (NZL), who was awarded Bronze.

Awang squeezed through a gap between Daniell and Van Velthooven in the final corner of the eight-lap race to celebrate an apparent victory with his trademark finish-line wheelie. However, his joy soon turned to disappointment when judges disqualified him for dangerous sprinting.

Ng came high on the boards for a clean finish and his Gold is now Malaysia's second medal during Delhi 2010 - after Mohd Rizal Tisin won Silver in the Men's 1000 m Time Trial on Tuesday.

Australia, who have dominated the cycling events at D2010 so far, saw their Gold medal stranglehold on the velodrome end when pre-race favourite Shane Perkins was relegated in the second round.



Have something to say? Post your comment.

Comments will be moderated and allowed only if they are about this topic and not abusive.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h1> <h2> <h3> <h4> <h5> <h6> <span> <p> <br> <b> <u> <i>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options