-A A +A
stay connected

The Delhi XIX Commonwealth Games are now over. This website is closed and for reference purposes only. Some external links may no longer work.
For the latest news and information, please visit the Commonwealth Games Federation website.

Taj Experience

Brought to you by Indian Railways and Organising Committee Commonwealth Games 2010 Delhi

The Taj Mahal is one of the wonders of the world. Built in 1653 by Emperor Shahjahan for his beloved wife Mumtaz Mahal, The Taj is regarded as the greatest monument to love and a piece of immeasurable beauty.

The majestic Taj stands on the banks of the Yamuna and the purity of the marble, exquisite ornamentation and precious gemstones makes it picturesque and one of the most popular monuments in the world.

Indian Railways, the Lead Partner of the XIX Commonwealth Games, is providing a dedicated train for the participants in the Commonwealth Games. The day trip would start at 07:00 am and end late in the evening.

The visitors will find the two and a half hour journey from Safdarjung Railway Station in New Delhi to Agra Cantonment Railway Station by a chartered train memorable as it goes through colourful northern Indian countryside. In Agra, you will have enough time to visit the Taj, shop a bit, look around the city.

These trips will run from 5 -7 October, 9-13 October and on 16 October.




Booking will be on first-come-first-served basis. The booking form needs to be submitted at least three days prior to the day of visit.

Click here to download the form.

Travel Advisory - Games Flagship Hotel
Travel Advisory - Games Village
Travel Advisory - Right-holding Media


Time Itinerary

 7:00 am

 Arrival at Safdarjung Railway Station, New Delhi

 7:55 am

 Departure from Safdarjung Railway Station,  New  Delhi

 10:30 am

 Arrival at Agra Cantonment Railway Station

 11:00 am

 Departure of AC Buses from Railway Station to   Shilp Gram

 11:30 am

 Arrival at Shilp Gram and board Battery Buses

 12:00 am

 Enter inside Taj Mahal. Sightseeing of Taj Mahal

 1:30 pm

 Departure from Taj Mahal by battery buses to    Shilp Gram (cultural, heritage and handicraft     centre)

 1:45 pm  to  2:30 pm

 Shopping at Shilp Gram

 2:30 pm

 Departure from Shilp Gram to Hotel Jaypee   Palace (or similar)

 3:00 pm

 Arrival at the Hotel for Lunch

 4:30 pm

 Departure from Hotel to Agra Cantonment Railway  Station

 5:00 pm

 Arrival at Agra Cantt Railway Station

 5:30 pm

 Departure of the train to Delhi

 8:05 pm

 Arrival at Safdarjung Railway Station